Subscribe to Scotiana's blog RSS feed in your preferred reader!

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter
    November 2021
    S M T W T F S


    Follow Me on Pinterest

    Ian Rankin’s Inspector Rebus Crime Thriller Series Finale…

    Ian Rankin’s Exit Music, published in December 2007, was to be the final instalment of a series of eighteen ( if we include Death Is Not The End, a novella that was further expanded in the novel Dead Souls) crime novels featuring the well known and charismatic Edinburgh’s Inspector  John Rebus.

    Book reviews quoted Exit Music to be one the finest book in the series. It was read by many with mixed emotions as the delight of reading another thrilling story based on instant history, like only Ian Rankin can write, was tinted with sadness  knowing it was the last case in his fictional detective career.

    We had came to consider Inspector Rebus as being almost a real person!

    There has been many printed editions of the Inspector Rebus mystery novels and below are the book covers created for the Orion Paperback series.

    Inspector Rebus - Ian Rankin - Scottish Crime Mystery Novel

    Inspector John Rebus - Ian Rankin - Mystery Crime Novels

    Mairiuna and I are always on the look out for a new Inspector Rebus cover design as we collect them. 🙂

    By clicking on the Amazon links provided below you will discover another set of cover design created for the publishing companies such as Little, Brown and Company and Minotaur, to name just these two.

    1- Knots and Crosses (1987)

    2- Hide and Seek (1990)

    3- Tooth and Nail (1992)

    4- Strip Jack (1992)

    5- The Black Book (1993)

    6- Mortal Causes (1994)

    7- Let it Bleed (1995)

    8- Black and Blue (1997)

    9- The Hanging Garden (1998)

    10- Death is not the end (this novella was further expanded in to “Dead Souls”) (1998)

    11- Dead Souls (1999)

    12- Set in Darkness (2000)

    13- The Falls (2001)

    14- Resurrection Men (2002)

    15- A Question of Blood (2003)

    16- Fleshmarket Close (2004)

    17- The Naming of the Dead (2006)

    18- Exit Music (2007)

    The Inspector Rebus novels have won four Crime Writers’ Association awards, including the Diamond Dagger in 2005. Translated in more than 30 languages, several have also been adapted for television.

    Ian Rankin with his wife and two sons lives in Edinburgh, where he now holds the rank of Deputy Lieutenant.

    Ian Rankin Exit Music Inspector rebus Crime Novel Series

    Exit Music - Ian Rankin

    Rankin provides a different rationale for Rebus’s re-emergence into the world of fiction.

    “Rebus is merely retired, not dead. He is working with the police department as a civilian. He lives in a compartment in my head, waiting patiently to be brought back to life,” he stated.

    Rebus's Scotland - A Personal Journey - Ian Rankin
    Rebus’s Scotland – A Personal Journey – Ian Rankin

    With Rebus gone, what next for Ian Rankin?

    That’s what we will be talking about in a subsequent post!

    Now let’s get back to reading these thrillers..

    A Bientôt!



    Share this:
    Share this page via Email Share this page via Stumble Upon Share this page via Digg this Share this page via Facebook Share this page via Twitter

    1 comment to Ian Rankin’s Inspector Rebus Crime Thriller Series Finale…

    • Andy Head

      Hi, I am trying to collect the rebus covers also, the ones shown. I have most of them but some are larger books. Is there any easy way to identify the smaller versions with this type of design when buying online, such as are they always in the first year of issue or is there a list of ISBN numbers somewhere I can access?

    Leave a Reply

    You can use these HTML tags

    <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.